Tips for reporting

What should I bear in mind when making a report?

You can report any indication or suspicion of the sexual exploitation of children or young people by tourists anywhere in the world. Even an uneasy feeling is enough to justify making a report because every piece of information counts!

To prevent false information from being laid under cover of anonymity, the official reporting form asks for your personal details. You need only fill in the fields associated with questions you can answer. Leave the other fields blank.

The following information is helpful for the authorities:

  • WHAT (situation) did you see WHEN and WHERE?
  • WHO were the people involved: adult(s), child(ren) or young person(s)?
  • Are you aware of whether any action was taken by a third party in the matter at the time (hotel staff, hotel patrons, tour management etc.)?
  • Specific details: are there photos or videos associated with the suspicious situations?

Please note: If you believe that the situation is urgent, speak to the tour operator or hotel management or contact the ECPAT organisation in the country of your destination. It will take over the coordination with local child protection organisations or the police.

Conseils pratiques concernant le signalement

A quoi dois-je veiller lors du signalement?

Vous pouvez fournir tous les indices et soupçons d’une possible exploitation sexuelle d’enfants et de jeunes par des touristes autour du globe. Un mauvais sentiment suffit pour faire un signalement, car le moindre indice compte!

Le formulaire de signalement est conçu simplement. Afin d’éviter les dérives et les accusations anonymes, vous devez fournir vos données personnelles. Ensuite, il y a six questions qui concernent ce que vous avez observé. Vous ne devez remplir que là où vous pouvez répondre. Les autres cases restent vides.

Des indications utiles pour les autorités sont par exemple:

  • Qu’est-ce que (situation) vous avez observé? QUAND et OÙ l’avez-vous observé?
  • QUI étaient les personnes impliquées: adulte(s), enfant(s) ou jeune(s)?
  • Avez-vous entendu dire que des tierces personnes sur place (personnel de l’hôtel, clients de l’hôtel, direction du voyage, etc.) étaient intervenues?
  • Faits particuliers: y a-t-il des photos ou des films en lien avec les situations suspectes?

Attention: si vous estimez que la situation est urgente, contactez les responsables du voyage, la direction de l’hôtel ou l’organisation ECPAT dans le pays où vous séjournez. Cette organisation se chargera de la coordination avec les organisations locales de la protection de l’enfant ou la police.