How you can help as a traveller

Before your trip

There are many ways in which you, as a tourist, can play an active part in the fight against child abuse in the context of tourism. It starts with booking your travel. Verify that your travel agency, airline and/or hotel has signed the “Tourism Child Protection Code”. If they have, you can rest assured that their staff has been made aware of the issue and received training.

Logo Tourism Child Protection Code

Are you interested in doing volunteer work abroad?

Make sure that the organisation arranging your placement takes all of the ethical and child protection issues into account rather than pursuing purely commercial interests alone.

Are you uncertain? You will find further information on volunteering on our fact sheet (available in German, French or Italian only) or on the website fairunterwegs.org (in German only).

During your trip

Have you seen something suspicious during your holiday or your volunteer work? If so, report it!

If you see something suspicious, you can help the victims by reporting this to the hotel reception desk or the local agent of the tour operator. If you have the feeling that members of the hotel or tour operator’s staff are themselves involved in the crime, you can notify the local ECPAT organisation or the travel agency in your country of origin.

You can also make a contribution by keeping your distance from dodgy hotels, discos and massage salons in which children work.

Helping children on the spot

It is possible that children or organisations will ask you for help on the spot. In some cases, children contribute a substantial amount to their family’s income through begging, because their parents’ earnings are inadequate to feed their families due to local conditions. This is a structural problem, and certainly not one for which the support of begging children constitutes a viable long-term solution.

If you are interested in visiting an aid organisation or a school that is working to promote children’s rights, make preparations before your departure: contact an organisation in Switzerland that works closely with projects and organisation in your destination area to ascertain which of the organisations and projects there are trustworthy.

Voici ce que vous pouvez faire en tant que voyageuse ou voyageur

Avant le voyage

Ils existent diverses possibilités de vous mobiliser activement en tant que touriste dans la lutte contre les maltraitances d’enfants dans le tourisme. Ceci commence dès la réservation de votre voyage. Vérifiez au préalable si l’agence de voyage, la compagnie aérienne et/ou l’hôtel ont signé le Code visant à protéger les enfants dans le tourisme, le «Tourism Child Protection Code». Si c’est le cas, vous pouvez avoir la certitude que le personnel est sensibilisé et entraîné.

Logo Tourism Child Protection Code

Vous vous intéressez à une activité bénévole à l’étranger?

Assurez-vous que l’organisme qui offre des places ne le fait pas par pur intérêt commercial mais tient compte aussi de tous les aspects liés à l’éthique et à la protection de l’enfant.

Vous avez des doutes? Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements à propos de l’engagement bénévole sur notre feuille d’information sur le site Internet fairunterwegs.org (disponible en allemand seulement).

Pendant le voyage

Si vous observez quelque chose de suspect dans le cadre de vos vacances ou de votre travail de bénévole: signalez-le!

Si vous observez quelque chose de suspect, vous pouvez aider les victimes en faisant part à la réception ou à la direction du voyage, en plus de le signaler au moyen du formulaire. Si vous avez le sentiment que des collaborateurs de l’hôtel ou la direction du voyage sont mêlés aux infractions, vous pouvez informer l’organisation ECPAT au niveau local ou l’agence de voyage dans votre pays.

Vous pouvez également apporter une aide efficace en évitant les hôtels, les discothèques et les salons de massage douteux dans lesquels travaillent des enfants.

Aider les enfants sur place

Il est possible que des enfants ou des organisations vous demandent très directement de les aider. En mendiant, les enfants contribuent souvent de manière substantielle au revenu de la famille, car en raison des conditions qui règnent sur place, les parents ne gagnent pas assez pour nourrir leur famille. C’est un problème structurel qui ne peut en aucun cas être résolu à terme en aidant les enfants qui mendient.

Si vous êtes intéressée ou intéressé à aller voir une organisation d’entraide ou une école qui défend les droits des enfants, préparez-vous à cela chez vous et prenez contact avec une organisation en Suisse qui a des contacts étroits avec des projets et des organisations sur place. Vous saurez ainsi quels projets et organisations locaux sont dignes de confiance.